123ArticleOnline Logo
Welcome to 123ArticleOnline.com!

ALL >> System-Network-Administration >> View Article

Changing The Group Scope

By Author: Mike Jones
Total Articles: 256

When creating a new group, by default, the new group CompTIA Security+ certification is configured as a security group with global scope regardless of the current domain functional level. Although changing a group scope is not allowed in domains with a domain functional level set to Windows 2000 mixed, the following scope changes are allowed in domains with a domain functional level set to Windows 2000 native or Windows Server 2003.
Global to universal, as long as the group is not a member of another group having global scope
Domain local to universal, as long as the group being converted does not have another group with a domain local scope as its member
Universal to global, as long as the group being converted does not have another universal group as its member
Universal to domain local
To change the scope of a group, complete the following steps:
1.Start the Active Directory Users And Computers console and expand the domain,OU, or container in which the group is contained.
2.Right-click the appropriate group, and then click Properties.Change the Linux+ group scope in the General tab of the Properties dialog box for the
group. Click OK.
As your organization grows and changes, you might discover groups that you no longer need. Be sure to delete these groups. Deleting unnecessary groups ensures you maintain security so you do not accidentally assign permissions for accessing resources to groups you no longer need. Each group you create has a unique, nonreusable identifier called the security identifier (SID). Windows Server 2003 uses the SID to identify the group and the permissions assigned to it. When you delete a group, Windows Server 2003 does not use the SID for that group again, even if you create a new group with the same name as the group you deleted. Therefore, you cannot restore access to resources by recreating the group.
When you delete a group, you delete only the group and the permissions and rights associated with it. Deleting a group does not delete the user accounts that are members of the group.
To delete a group, complete the following steps:
1.Right-click the group, and then click Delete.
Click Yes in the Active Directory dialog box.
When you delete a group, you delete only the free CompTIA practice tests group and remove the permissions and rights that are associated with it. Deleting a group does not delete the user accounts that are members of the group.

Total Views: 138Word Count: 396See All articles From Author

System/Network Administration Articles

1. Lead Generation
Author: Lead Generation Services

2. How To Resolve “access Record(s) Cannot Be Read No Read Permission On”
Author: A database analyst and a technical blogger & write

3. Best Vpn Discount Services That Won't Scam You
Author: Siva Kulkarni

4. How To Watch Netflix In China
Author: Siva Kulkarni

5. How To Watch Us Netflix In Canada
Author: Siva Kulkarni

6. Setup A Squid Proxy Vpn On A Squid Proxy
Author: Ryan Brown

7. Mobile & Web Application Cargo365cloud Transport Management Software
Author: Dhwani Khatri

8. Global Identity And Access Management To Reach A Market Size Of $16.4 Billion By 2022
Author: Shivani Singh

9. The Ins And Outs Of Digital Reasoning
Author: Michel Smith is the author of this article.

10. How Analytics And Insights Can Improve Outcomes
Author: Michel Smith is the author of this article

11. Why Linksys Are Best For Home Networking?
Author: linksyssupportus

12. Dell Inspiron Laptop Repair Centre
Author: Dell Repair Centre

13. Apache Ignite
Author: Amar

14. What Sap Is Doing Right In The Crm Space Vs. Salesforce
Author: Sandeep Arora

15. What Is The Hybris Marketing Platform And What Are Its Uses In Contextual Marketing?
Author: Sandeep Arora

Login To Account
Login Email:
Password:
Forgot Password?
New User?
Sign Up Newsletter
Email Address: